President Statement | VAADA Board

I am pleased to announce a number of changes to the Victorian Alcohol and Drug Association (VAADA) Board of Directors.

Clare Davies, CEO of the Self Help Addiction Resource Centre (SHARC) will take on the role of Vice-President of the VAADA Board. Clare has been a stalwart of the alcohol and other drug (AOD) sector maintaining a number of leadership positions and remaining a strong advocate for AOD issues. Clare takes over this leadership role from Kent Burgess, who was integral to the strategy of VAADA throughout his 6 years.

I offer my congratulations and support to Dom Ennis, General Manager of Quality and Service Development at the Youth Support + Advocacy Service (YSAS), who has taken on the role of Treasurer. Dom brings welcome experience to the position, which has been ably managed by Shannon Bell, who departs VAADA after 5 years having taken on a new role within Uniting.

I welcome Richie Goonan, Executive Manager Community Health at Youth Projects, Adrian Webber, General Manager, AOD, Mental Health and Carer Services at Uniting Vic/Tas and Dr Stefan Gruenert, CEO of Odyssey House Victoria, with Stefan returning to the VAADA Board after 4 years. These three new members will bring a range of expertise, leadership and capacity to the VAADA Board. I similarly congratulate the re-elected, Jose Taylor Director Youth, Housing and South West at Meli Services, who I look forward to continuing to work with along with continuing Board Members Cath Peake from Barwon Health and Dale Hardy from Bendigo Community Health Services.

I would like to thank departing Board Members Elisa Buggy, CEO of Inner Melbourne Community Legal and Professor Victoria Manning, Head of Research and Workforce Development at Turning Point. I am grateful to both Elisa and Victoria for their service on the Board and its sub-committees, not only on behalf of VAADA but the AOD sector.

I would finally like to thank my colleagues on the Board for returning me as President of VAADA. I am humbled by their confidence in me and look forward to working with the VAADA Board, Staff and Members in the year ahead.

Dr. Tamsin Short
President of VAADA

VAADA Board 2024

1. Dr Tamsin Short, President                     6. Cath Peak
2. Clare Davies, Vice-President                  7. Richie Goonan
3. Domenic Ennis, Treasurer                        8. Adrian Webber
4. Josephine Taylor                                       9. Dr Stefan Gruenert
5. Dale Hardy