ADRIA Governance


On this page you can read about ADRIA’s two independent governance bodies.

ADRIA Advisory Group

ADRIA’s Advisory Group was established as an independent body to support and oversee the administration of ADRIA, providing expert guidance on how ADRIA is managed.

The Advisory group is comprised of experts from various relevant fields. Membership of the Advisory Group is voluntary.


Professor Paul Dietze – Program Director, Behaviours and Health Risks, Burnet Institute
Dr Shaymaa Elkadi – Executive Director, Strategy, Planning and Performance, Forensicare
Nicole McCartney – Chief Aboriginal Health Advisor, Department of Health, Victorian Government
Sione Crawford – Chief Executive Officer, Harm Reduction Victoria
Simon Ruth – CEO, Thorne Harbour Health
Andrew Bruun – CEO, Youth Support + Advocacy Service
Brad Pearce – Director – Priority Populations Health and Wellbeing, North Western Melbourne Primary Health Service
Heather Pickard – CEO, Self Help Addiction Resource Centre
Dr Jon Cooke – Head of Unit, Addiction Medicine, Western Health
Stephanie Shavin – Education and Service Development Consultant, Victorian Transcultural Mental Health, St Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne.

Previous members:

Associate Professor Yvonne Bonomo – Director of Addiction Medicine, St Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne and Medical Head of Unit, Women’s Alcohol and Drug Service, The Royal Women’s Hospital.
Dr Susan McDonough – Education and Service Development Consultant, Victorian Transcultural Mental Health (St Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne)
Dr Theresa Lynch – Manager, Women’s Alcohol and Drug Service, Royal Women’s Hospital


ADRIA Evaluation Panel

ADRIA’s Evaluation Panel is an independent body that evaluates grant applications. The Panel’s recommendations are provided to the Office of the VictorianMinister for Health who approves allocation of ADRA grants. The Panel is comprised of six experts from various relevant fields.

Members of the Evaluation Panel are reimbursed for the time at rates set by the Victorian Government’s remuneration guidelines.

Panel chair

Jesse Young – NHMRC Emerging Leadership Fellow, Justice Health Unit, Centre for Health Equity University of Melbourne

Panel membership

Trevor King – Consultant in AOD service delivery, research and policy
Craig Holloway – Project Manager, Victorian Aboriginal Health Service
Dr Natalie Skinner – Senior Research Fellow, National Centre for Education and Training on Addiction, Flinders University
Chris Gough – Executive Director, Canberra Alliance for Harm Minimisation & Advocacy and The Connection health service
Elisa Buggy – CEO, Western Centre Against Sexual Assault